Communications: News

MAFP Presents Awards, Elects Officers

Monday, April 26, 2010  
Share |

The Minnesota Academy of Family Physicians (MAFP) presented awards and elected officers on April 15, 2010, during its Annual Meeting and Spring Refresher at the Crowne Plaza Riverfront Hotel in downtown St. Paul.

2010 Award Winners:

Minnesota Family Physician of the Year – Richard Wehseler, MD, Spicer; Affiliated Community Medical Centers (ACMC), New London

President’s Award – Anne Edwards, MD, FAAP, Pediatrician, Park Nicollet-Brookdale, Brooklyn Center

Merit Award – Macaran Baird, MD, MS, Professor & Head, University of Minnesota Department of Family Medicine and Community Health, Minneapolis

Teacher of the Year – Mark Becker, MD, Associate Director, University of Minnesota/St. Cloud Hospital Family Medicine Residency Program

Resident of the Year – Tanner Nissly, DO, Third-year resident, University of Minnesota/North Memorial Hospital Family Medicine Residency Program

Researcher of the Year – Kathleen Culhane-Pera, MD, Associate Medical Director and Director of Community-based Research, West Side Community Health Services, St. Paul; Medical Director, East Side Family Clinic, St. Paul.

Medical Student Award for Contributions to Family Medicine – Peter Olsen, Fourth-year medical student, University of Minnesota

2010-2011 MAFP Officers:

President – Terence Cahill, M.D., Blue Earth, MN

President-Elect – Alan Olson, M.D., Redwood Falls, MN

Board Chair – Carol Farchmin, M.D., Duluth, MN

Speaker of the House – Julie K. Anderson, M.D., St. Cloud, MN

Vice Speaker – Daron Gersch, M.D., Albany, MN

Treasurer – Raymond Christensen, M.D., Duluth, MN

Officer-At-Large – Dania Kamp, Moose Lake, MN

Director-At-Large – Richard Horecka, Benson, MN

Immediate Past President – Patricia Fontaine, M.D., Minneapolis, MN

AAFP Delegate – Keith Stelter, M.D., Mankato, MN

AAFP Delegate – Carol Featherstone, Brooklyn Center, MN

AAFP Alternate Delegate – Lynne Lillie, M.D., Woodbury, MN

AAFP Alternate Delegate – David Hutchinson, M.D., Duluth, MN

The Minnesota Academy of Family Physicians is a professional association of approximately 3,000 family physicians, family medicine residents and medical students organized to assist family physicians in providing quality medical care in Minnesota. The MAFP is the largest medical specialty organization in Minnesota and is a state chapter of the American Academy of Family Physicians, one of the largest national medical organizations in the United States with more than 103,000 members.

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal