Communications: News

Minnesota Family Physicians Name 2010 President's Award Winner

Monday, April 26, 2010  
Share |

Anne Edwards, M.D., a pediatrician at Park Nicollet-Brookdale in Brooklyn Center, was presented with the Minnesota Academy of Family Physicians’ (MAFP) President’s Award at the MAFP All-Member Celebration on April 15, 2010.

The President’s Award is given by the MAFP president to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the specialty of family medicine and the Academy.

Dr. Edwards was the 2009-2010 president of the Minnesota Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics. She was selected because of her accomplishments that have affected family physicians and their patients including providing leadership in a dentist/physician working group to address oral health and her work on a jointly funded Health Care Home Capacity Assessment research project.

"Her engaged advocacy on these issues is contagious, and her willingness to collaborate has brought our two organizations into a more productive working relationship than ever before,” said Patricia Fontaine, M.D., outgoing MAFP President.

The Minnesota Academy of Family Physicians is a professional association of approximately 3,000 family physicians, family medicine residents and medical students organized to assist family physicians in providing quality medical care in Minnesota. The MAFP is the largest medical specialty organization in Minnesota and is a state chapter of the American Academy of Family Physicians, one of the largest national medical organizations in the United States with more than 103,000 members.

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal