Communications: News

MAFP Presents Awards, Elects Officers

Wednesday, May 2, 2012  
Share |

The Minnesota Academy of Family Physicians (MAFP) presented awards and elected officers on April 25, 2012, during its Annual Meeting and Spring Refresher at the Minneapolis Convention Center.

2012 Award Winners:

Minnesota Family Physician of the Year – Andrew Burgdorf, M.D., Allina Medical Clinic, Buffalo, MN

President’s Award – Macaran Baird, M.D., M.S., Professor and Head of the Department of Family Medicine and Community Health at the University of Minnesota

Teacher of the Year – Paul Van Gorp M.D., Preceptor, CentraCare Clinic, Long Prairie, MN

Resident of the Year – Laura Wellington, M.D., Third-year resident, North Memorial Medicine Residency Program

Researcher of the Year – Mark Yeazel, M.D., MPH, Associate Professor of Family Medicine at the University of Minnesota Medical School

Medical Student Award for Contributions to Family Medicine – Ben Pederson, Fourth-year medical student, University of Minnesota

2012-2013 MAFP Officers:

President – Julie K. Anderson, M.D., St. Cloud, MN

President-Elect – Daron Gersch, M.D., Albany, MN

Board Chair – Kurt Angstman, M.D., Rochester, MN

Speaker of the House – Mohammad Tariq Fareed, M.D., FAAFP, Rochester, MN

Vice Speaker – Dania Kamp, M.D., Moose Lake, MN

Treasurer – Raymond Christensen, M.D., Duluth, MN

Officer-At-Large – Suzanne Human, Bemidji, MN

Director-At-Large – Corey Martin, Buffalo, MN

Immediate Past President – Alan Olson, M.D., Redwood Falls, MN

AAFP Delegate – Keith Stelter, M.D., Mankato, MN

AAFP Delegate – Carol Featherstone, M.D., Brooklyn Center, MN

AAFP Alternate Delegate – Lynne Lillie, M.D., Woodbury, MN

AAFP Alternate Delegate – David Hutchinson, M.D., Duluth, MN

The Minnesota Academy of Family Physicians is a professional association of approximately 3,000 family physicians, family medicine residents and medical students organized to assist family physicians in providing quality medical care in Minnesota. The MAFP is the largest medical specialty organization in Minnesota and is a state chapter of the American Academy of Family Physicians, one of the largest national medical organizations in the United States with more than 103,000 members.

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal