Communications: News

Minnesota Family Physicians Name President's Award Winner

Wednesday, April 24, 2013   (0 Comments)
Share |

Therese Zink, M.D., MPH., a family physician and professor in the Department of Family Medicine and Community Health at the University of Minnesota, is the recipient of the 2013 Minnesota Academy of Family Physicians’ (MAFP) President’s Award.

The President’s Award is given by the MAFP president to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the specialty of family medicine and the Academy. Dr. Zink received the President’s Award because of the numerous activities she is involved in outside of her practice. Dr. Zink served on the Governor’s Health Reform Task Force from 2011-2012 and represented family physicians in important policy decisions. She is also a mentor and teacher to residents and medical students and has been involved in the Midwest Family Medicine Consortium. In addition, Dr. Zink is a writer. Her stories have been published in lay magazines, literary and medical journals, and several anthologies. She has edited two collections and compiled a book of stories.

"Dr. Zink is deserving of the President’s Award because she is dedicated to the specialty of family medicine and is a leader for others to model themselves after,” said Julie Anderson, M.D., MAFP Immediate Past President.

The Minnesota Academy of Family Physicians is a professional association of approximately 3,000 family physicians, family medicine residents and medical students organized to assist family physicians in providing quality medical care in Minnesota. The MAFP is the largest medical specialty organization in Minnesota and is a state chapter of the American Academy of Family Physicians, one of the largest national medical organizations in the United States with more than 103,000 members.

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal